European Union to restrict more hair dye ingredients


Plans to restrict a further 22 hair colour ingredients, including eyelash dyes

The European Union is planning to restrict a further 22 hair colour ingredients, including eyelash dyes, and has notified the World Trade Organisation of the changes. The amendments are expected to be added to Annex III of EU Cosmetics Regulation.

In a memorandum addressed to the WTO, the EU stated that “based on recent scientific opinions given by the Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (\'SCCS\'), the draft regulation pursues two main objectives”.

The first objection cited was to restrict the use of 22 hair dye substances by regulating them in Annex III of Cosmetics Regulation; and the second, was to authorise ten hair dye substances and hydrogen peroxide for their use in products intended for colouring eyelashes by setting up strict use conditions and obligatory warnings (such as "for professional use only") in Annex III. Ingredients to be subject to such warnings include 1,4-benzenediamine (HC Blue No 5), 1,3-benzenediol and 2-methyl, 2,5-diaminotoluene sulphate.

Sign up for your free email newsletter

Hair dye ingredients are being increasingly restricted in the EU in the interests of consumer safety. In 2006, 22 ingredients were banned and a few months ago, the SCCS opened opinions on a raft of others, including dichloromethane, 1,2,4-trihydroxybenzene, 5-amino-6-chloro-o-cresol, 2,2’ methylenebis-4-aminophenol HCI, 4-amino, and Basic Brown 16.