L’Oréal announces promotions and change to Executive Committee

Christophe Babule and Cyril Chapuy, both long standing employees at the beauty giant, will take up their new positions in 2019

Christophe Babule and Cyril Chapuy

L’Oréal has announced the appointment of two new members to its Executive Committee.

Christophe Babule and Cyril Chapuy have been with the beauty giant for 20 and 15 years, respectively.

Babule will take on the role of Executive Vice-President, Chief Financial Officer and a member of L’Oréal’s Executive Committee, succeeding Christian Mulliez who, after 17 years in the role and 36 years at the group, has taken the decision to step down.

Commenting on Babule’s appointment, L’Oréal’s CEO, Jean-Paul Agon, said: “I would like to thank Christian Mulliez and express my gratitude for his outstanding commitment and important contribution to L’Oréal’s success during all these years.

“Thanks to his high level of expertise and his personal qualities, we have built teams of very high standard all over the world.”

He continued: “We are pleased to welcome Christophe Babule to the Executive Committee who brings us his significant experience of financial management and deep knowledge of business and Asia.”

Mulliez will accompany Babule throughout the transition period from February to April 2019.

Chapuy will also join the company’s Executive Committee from 1 January, taking over from Nicolas Hieronimus who will now act as Deputy CEO, and has been appointed President of L’Oréal Luxe, effective 1 January.

Hieronimus said: “Throughout his career within brands and internationally, Cyril has demonstrated a strong added value on product development, great strategic and marketing skills as well as a sense of image in the digital era.

“These are major assets in the pursuit of L’Oréal Luxe’s success.”